COVID mRNA Vaccine Pioneers Honoured with Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Biju Dharmapalan


Katalin Kariko and Drew Weissman received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for their groundbreaking research, which facilitated the creation of the immensely effective messenger RNA vaccines for COVID-19. These vaccines have become one of the most commercially successful medications in history. Their contributions played a crucial role in advancing the technology that allowed Moderna Inc. and the Pfizer Inc. BioNTech SE collaboration to rapidly create pandemic vaccines. These vaccines have been administered to hundreds of millions globally, representing a pivotal stride in mitigating the COVID-19 pandemic. This is for the second consecutive year the Nobel Prize in Medicine has…read more on NOPR